UCAS Points Explained Qualifications Explained

The UCAS Tariff is a points system used to report achievement for entry to higher education (HE) in a numerical format. It establishes agreed comparability between different types of qualifications and provides comparisons between applicants with different types and volumes of achievement.


The Tariff works in the following ways:


• Points can be aggregated from the different qualifications included in the Tariff.
• There is no ceiling to the number of points which can be accumulated.
• There is no double counting – applicants cannot count the same or similar qualifications twice.
• Achievement at a lower level will be subsumed into the higher level, ie, AS points will be subsumed into the A level points for the same subject. The same principle applies to Scottish Highers and Advanced Highers, VCE A levels and Double Awards, Functional Skills and Music awards at different levels or grades.
• All certificated Functional Skills in Application of Number, Communication and ICT will attract points whether achieved through proxy or not.


As a rough guide, the table below outlines the value of different types of qualification. For full and up-to-date details of individual qualification tariff points please visit: http://www.ucas.ac.uk/students/ucas_tariff/tarifftables/


D=Distinction, M=Merit, P=Pass



  • You cannot count the same subject at both AS and A level.
  • Functional Skills carry 20 points per skill at level 3.
  • Early Years National Diploma has extra points as the practical grades are equivalent to a fourth A level.

Read More


Your Wishlist